❮  Return to News

In order to comply with the requirements, engine manufacturers must follow strict testing procedures to demonstrate or certify that their engine or vehicle meets the engine emissions standards while operating in a specific service class (test cycle and weight restriction). An engine cannot be placed in a vehicle and operated outside its service class designation. Emission standards are set for a variety of service classes including new passenger cars (PC), light-duty trucks (LDT), medium-duty vehicles (MDV), heavy-duty engines (HDE) and vehicles (HDV) including urban buses (UB), on- and off-road motorcycles (ONMC and OFMC), all-terrain vehicles (ATV), and electric golf carts (eGC).

Non-road spark ignited engines are regulated in two different classes; large spark ignited (LSI) and small spark ignited (SSI). Our team has complied some key certification topics for both sections below. However, if you want a deeper analysis of LSI engine certification requirements our staff has developed a wonderful post on that topic which you can read here.

Large Spark Ignited Engines:

Key Topics:

  • Federal sliding scale standards vs. California standards.
  • Certifying engines to operate on non-commercial fuels (§1048.625)
  • Developing deterioration factors vs. assigned factors (§1048.240)
  • Field test standards (§1048.101(c))
  • Production line testing (§1048.301)
  • Diagnostic monitoring (§1048.110)
  • Adjustable parameters (§1048.115(e))
  • Evaporative compliance 1048.105)
  • AECD auditing
  • In use testing 1048.401)

Small Spark Ignited Engines:

Key Topics:

  • Unique California Standards
  • Evaporative testing and certification 1060)